Skip to content ↓

The Bishop of Hereford's Bluecoat School

A Church of England School

Senior Leadership Team:

Martin Henton: Headteacher

Martin Henton:
Headteacher head@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

Martin Henton: Headteacher (head@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk)

BSc (Hons) University of Liverpool, PGCE Secondary, National Professional Qualification for Headship.

I have been the Headteacher at Bishop’s since October 2018 and feel privileged to lead such a great school with a strong sense of community and a determination to offer the best opportunities for all of our students.

After starting my teaching career in the Northwest, I moved with my family to Hereford to join Bishop’s. Having served in different leadership roles at the school, I have a deep understanding and empathy for the heart of our school to lead it forward. 

I am really excited about our ambitious plans for the future to offer the best learning experiences for our students to be happy and successful.

Pete Gibbins: Deputy Headteacher

Pete Gibbins
Deputy Headteacher
Safeguarding, Welfare and Behaviour pgibbins@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

BA (Hons) Brunel University. PGCE Secondary, National Professional Qualification for Headship

I have worked in four different schools across the country, three of these as a senior leader. I started my teaching career in Maidenhead, moving to Stourport on Severn and then Wolverhampton before joining Bishops as Deputy Head in 2015. I am a passionate sportsman who believes that we should always strive to ‘be the best we can be.

Ellie Bunston: Deputy Headteacher

Ellie Bunston
Deputy Headteacher
Teaching, Learning and Assessment ebunston@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

BSc and PGCE at Exeter University, MA in Education at Oxford Brookes University. Currently studying National Professional Qualification for Headship.

I have taught since 1999 and worked in schools in Cambridge, Oxfordshire and Berkshire. I have worked as a Curriculum Team Leader, then as an Assistant Head in two different schools before joining the leadership team at Bishops in 2016 when I relocated back to the area with my family. I believe in enabling every child to achieve their potential.

Owen Collingbourne: Assistant Headteacher

Owen Collingbourne
Assistant Headteacher
Timetable and CPD ocollingbourne@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

BSc and PGCE at Loughborough University, AST and Specialist Leader in Education for PE and early career development.

I have worked in two schools in the Yorkshire / Lancashire area as Head of PE and Head of the Northern Alliance Initial Teacher Education. My family relocated to Herefordshire in 2017 and in 2019 I was appointed to the Bishop’s SLT team. I look forward to having an impact on a school with an excellent reputation and history and being part of the journey moving forward.

Jonathan Nicholas: Assistant Headteacher

Jonathan Nicholas
Assistant Headteacher
Attendance, Ethos and Values jnicholas@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

BSc (Hons) at Aberystwyth University, MSc at Bangor University, PGCE at Nottingham University and a Diploma in Leadership through the University of Worcester.

I started my teaching career in Winchester, before moving to a large secondary school in Worcestershire, where I was the Curriculum Team Leader for Science. In 2009 I moved back to Hereford and have worked in a pastoral capacity to support our students ever since.

Nick Vaughan: SENDCo

Nick Vaughan
SENDCo nvaughan@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

BA (Jt Hons) at Cardiff University, PGCE at Swansea University, PGDE (SEN) at University of Wales, Newport, PGCE (National Award SENCO) at University of Worcester.

I have worked at schools in Havering and Blaenau Gwent and have spent the last twenty-one years teaching students with Special Educational Needs, History and English at Bishop’s.

Joe Christopher: School Business Manager

Joe Christopher
School Business Manager jmm@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA), Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT), Certificate of School Business Management.

I have been School Business Manager at Bishops since May 2006, having previously worked in public finance since 1992.  I have overall responsibility for the finance for our school enabling us to achieve the best outcomes for our students.

House Leaders:

Ashley: Mrs N Collingbourne
ncollingbourne@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Cheshire: Mrs C Whittaker
cwhittaker@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Livingstone: Mrs E Robertson
erobertson@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Shaftesbury: Mr R Burgess
rburgess@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk 

Curriculum Team Leaders:

English: Miss B Robinson
brobinson@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Maths: Mr K Brandreth
kbrandreth@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Science: Mr J Foggo
jfoggo@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Technology: Mr J Bohan
jbohan@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Modern Foreign Languages: Mrs R Metcalfe
rmetcalfe@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Art and Music: Mr H Sutton
hsutton@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
PE: Mr M Stubbs
mstubbs@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Humanities: Mr A Banks
abanks@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Religious Studies: Mrs L Barker
lbarker@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

Pastoral Mentors:

Year 7: Mrs K Long
klong@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Year 8: Mrs J Foggo
jofoggo@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Year 9: Mrs M Harper
mharper@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
Year 10:

Mrs E Clayton
eclayton@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

Miss C Vaughan
cvaughan@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk

Year 11: Mrs M Roberts
marionroberts@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk
PPG: Miss K Tyler
ktyler@bhbs.hereford.sch.uk